Tomato Review: Evergreen

2011 Review.  Not a great tomato year in my area.  Cool & rainy May, ok June & VERY hot & dry July

EVERGREEN
Midseason, indeterminate, green-when-ripe oblate shaped, a commercial variety from 1956 by Glecklers Seedmen.

Planted:  3 seedlings from a trade on June 7th, 2011, a bit of septoria on the seedlings.
First fruit set: June 21st,  one of the earliest in my garden.
Height: 4′ by July 16th.  Medium to tall by the end of the season – about 6′.
First Ripe Fruit:  July 26th – the 1st full-sized ripe tomato!
Yields:  Average-Good,  fairly early ripening & kept going into November in the greenhouse.
Uses: Fantastic Sliced.  A bit juicy for salads.  Awesome rich sauce.  Very tasty when dried.
Taste: My favourite tomato ever

Overall: This was the first green tomato that I have ever tried.  It weirded me out, until I tasted it.  I am not sure what I expected.  Maybe something tart or tasteless.  Evergreen is the opposite. Evergreen is a richly sweet, juicy fruit with tang. It has a fantastic full flavour and is a  gorgeous green colour.  Froze some & used it in the winter for sauce.  Still fabulous.  I absolutely loved it.  It is ripe when it turns a bit yellowy-amber and is soft to the touch.  I waited until I thought it was ripe & then waited 2 more days to try it (:

Don’t forget – my taste buds are different from yours, as is my weather, soil, growing habits etc.  You may agree or disagree with my review.  Grow it yourself & tell me if you like it (:

This entry was posted in 2011 garden, Tomato Review, tomatoes, Veggie Garden and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

