Tomato Review: Tuxhorn’s Red and Yellow

2011 Review.  Not a great tomato year in my area.  Cool & rainy May, ok June & VERY hot & dry July

TUXHORN’S RED AND YELLOW
Late, indeterminate,  bicolour beefsteak tomato, from Mrs.Ed Tuxhorn

Planted:  1 small seedling planted out May 29th. 
First fruit set: July 16th
Height: Average height, about 5-6′.
First Ripe Fruit:  August 29th. Late season.
Yields:  Not so good.  2 large beefsteak ripened during my crappy tomato growing year.  I hope that I get a few more next year (going to try it again – yes it tasted that good)
Uses: The only thing that I did with this one was fresh eating & it was excellent! 
Taste: Thick skin is a drawback, but the inside is meaty, juicy & a gorgeous colour. Fruity & tasty. 

Overall:  A great tasting bicolour with not so great production.  beautifully photogenic – can you call a tomato photogenic?  Hmm… well it is.  Grow it again & hope for more!

Don’t forget – my taste buds are different from yours, as is my weather, soil, growing habits etc.  You may agree or disagree with my review.  Grow it yourself & tell me if you like it (:

This entry was posted in 2011 garden, Tomato Review, tomatoes, Veggie Garden and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

