Lots of Bush Beans

 

I grew double my usual amount of bush beans this year. One day I will grow less varieties. But I can’t resist all of the pretty colours and shapes! Anyway….  One bed was much sunnier than the other and matured quicker, but overall it was a great season.

I planted several varieties that I have already reviewed.  If you are looking for more info on;

Black Valentine, Blue Jay, Dapple Grey, Jacob’s Cattle, Tsunetomi or Wood Mountain Crazy, shoot me a message or check out my previous blogs.  They all did well and grew true to form

image

image

 

 

 

The new to me varieties:

imageCANADIAN WILD GOOSE

What a pretty bean. Green with purple stripes with unremarkable flavour as a snap. But dried…. The earliest to a mature, it pumped out hundreds of easy to shell tiny colourful beans. I left the plants in, hoping for a 2nd crop in the fall. No luck.  I think that I could fit an early snap in before winter in its spot. Will get a spot in next year’s garden.

imagePAINTED PONY

A tall plant that shoots out runners.  The beans dried fairly late. The long, thin pods were easy to shell. The seeds are gorgeous and kept their markings when cooked.  I was making refried beans, but couldn’t bear to mash them!  Not my favourite variety.  Average production, average maturity, average taste dressed in a pretty coat.

image

APPALOOSA

i tried this as a snap and it was good.  I won’t bother next time.  The dried beans are so beautiful, why waste picking any early? It produced masses of long, thin pods. My only complaint is that I got the bean equivalent of paper cuts when shelling along the sharp pod edge. Fantastic in chili.  This is a grow every other year in my garden.

imageSPECKLED ALGONQUIN

This was the largest plant of all of the bush varieties. Strangely, the dry bean yield was a little less than average.  It was in a sunny spot, so I don’t think that I will grow it again, but – I haven’t tasted them yet!  This is a native Canadian bean said to be great baked or in soup.  I will update once I cook with it.

imageMROCUMIERE

I planted 5 seeds of this gorgeous purple seeded bean, hoping to increase my stock & share a few. I was very wrong.  The 5 beans that I planted produced as much as the 2 dozen seeds of the other varieties! The plants were covered in large rounded pods. And the dried bean – so striking. The purple colour is deepening with age.  I will taste some soon & update!

imageFLAGEOLET

Such a dainty little bean.  The pale green colour of the seed is eye-catching.  Stringy as a snap, this one shines in soup.  Rich & creamy tasting.  Although I have enjoyed cooking with this variety, it didn’t have a great yield for me.  It was in the shadiest part of the garden, so when I try it again it will get a sunny spot.

imageTIGER EYE

Tiger Eye is said to be a bush variety, but consistently throws runners.  I decided to plant the seed around the base of my peach tree. Good thing, as it would have strangled out the neighbouring bush beans had I left it in the main beds.  It grew right up the trunk of the tree.  What a crazy coloured bean!  A grow again for colour alone! I can’t wait to try it in chili!

PISRECKA ZLUTOLUSKE

The first fresh eating beans to mature in the absolute shadiest spot in my garden!  A terrific tasting wax bean. I ate masses of them fresh out of the garden, drowning them in butter & salt.  I froze enough for about a dozen meals for 4. Then I realized that the beans in the shady part of the garden weren’t drying. I left the rest for seed, but the frost got the seed first.  Bah! I will have to source these again, as I hope none left!

Overall my favourites this year were Canadian Wild Goose and Mrocumiere.  Both great production & gorgeous when shelled!

If anyone has a spare dozen Pisarecka Zlutoluske beans, let me know.  I think that they would have been a favourite too, in a sunnier part of the garden!

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in 2014 garden, bean and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Lots of Bush Beans

  1. Dawn says:

    Great post! I love growing bush beans. I’m so glad you tried the Canadian Wild Goose Beans. They are so prolific. (Tene’s beans produce really well for me, too. Have you ever grown them?). I love the Speckled Algonquin because it’s so pretty (even the pods). I will grow both again in 2015, along with Mrocumiere beans, which are new to me.

    So many beans, so little space! *L*

    Like

  2. Dawn says:

    Everything seems a little behind this season (especially the tomatoes), but even so, the Mrocumiere plants look like they are going to produce a LOT of beans. Woohoo!

    I chuckled when I reread your description of the Tiger Eye beans. I wish I’d read it right before I planted my garden! I thought they were typical bush beans and planted them accordingly. I was away for most of June, and when I came home, I saw that my husband had built a trellis of sticks and mesh to try to contain them! Haha! The plants looks healthy, though, so my fingers are crossed that they mature well and that I’m able to collect a nice bunch of them in September.

    Hope your growing season is going well!

    Like

  3. Really enjoyed your bean harvest posts, I might try adding some next year. Have you grown potatoes under your beans again?
    The mrocumiere is beautiful!
    Sad to hear about the Pisarecka Zlutoluske. :<

    Like

    • nicky says:

      Yes, I did the bean and potato combo again this year. I got the largest potatoes that I have ever grown. No hollow heart, just perfect potatoes. The beans were good again too!

      Mrocumiere was ridiculously productive again. I really enjoy shelling those purple pods!

      Like

  4. nannygrannie says:

    They are beautiful!! I’m going to need to grow beans next year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

